Skip to content

Yellowstone – Old Faithful area

September 10, 2012

14/8/12
Madison campsite
I’m not counting the miles on this hike!
I’m finally in my tent after a day and a half of travellimg and layovers. I took a bus from bangor at 7am yesterday morning, then took a train to boston, a plane to salt lake city, managed to sleep for 2 hours on the floor of the airport, then got a taxi downtown and then caught a bus to west yellowstone. I talked to a ranger there who was very helpful in aiding me in planning my hike, then I hitched into the park and stopped here at madison.
So leaving Bangor to reaching the campsite took me 36 hours. All to save a few quid! It wasn’t bad, I just had one crappy hour when the bus to west yelowstone didn’t arrive. I forgot to confirm it so I had no idea what happened until it came an hour late. I was in the process of booking a room at a hostel down the road when it showed up.
On to Old Faithful tomorrow! I’ve got a whole month to roam the park 🙂

16/8
I’m camping in a meadow by myself and I just heard wolves howling in the distance. Pretty cool. The past couple of days have been as amazing as I’d hoped they would be. I even got to meet a few people that work here and had a few (too many) beers with them.

image

Old Faithful Inn

image

Old Faithful Geyser

image

Morning Glory pool

image

Prismatic Pool

Imperial Geyser

image

My campsite for the night. I felt like the luckiest man in the world when I first saw it.

18/6
So I’ve been doing some more hiking, for a change. Here’s some more photos.

image

Grand Geyser I think. It was close to Old Faithful. It only goes off once every 15 hours but I just happened to be walking past.

Pool in the biscuit basin

image

Wastelands after the apocalypse

Just another water source

image

Yep

image

image

I hope these panoramic shots actually work. Ther’s a hot spring mixing with the river water on the right, I sat in there for an hour, then set up camp upriver at a waterfall. Now I’m writing this…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment