Skip to content

South west yellowstone

September 10, 2012

19/8
My last post was getting too long. I’m camping just before union falls. There were some big waterfalls today along the Bechler trail.

image

Iris Falls

image

Colonnade Falls

image

This is where I camped last night. Well,10 metres from here.

image

Raspberries! They tasted good.

image

Awesome

image

Tonight’s campsite’s toilet. It’s the first time in 2 days I’ve had anything, so to me it’s luxury!

image

Horses. They’re allowed in Yellowstone.

Tomorrow I’m doing around 20 miles then I’m going to try to hitch to the tetons.

20/8/12
Jenny Lake Campsite, overlooking the Tetons.

I made it! I hiked 15 miles to the south entrance road (I skipped a side trail because I was worried about time 😦 ) then 2 miles to a place called flag ranch and resupplied for the next hike. From there I caught a ride from the manager of a hotel at flagg ranch who was very friendly and took me 20 miles past his stop just so he knew I’d get to my destination. I don’t know if I’m really lucky or if everyone that works in national parks is just awesome.
On top of that, everyone kept telling me that Jenny Lake would be full, but they have a hiker/cyclist section that had heaps of spare room for only 8 dollars.

The next 3 days I’ll be hiking along the ridgelines of mountains with peaks over 12000 feet. I’m at 7000ft already though so it’s not that bad.

image

Now that’s a mountain!

image

My ride even stopped to take a photo for me.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment