Skip to content

Baggage issues.

May 27, 2012

22/5
1032.7 miles at rocky run shelter.
I did all my errands in town this morning; I sent my bounce box of cold weather gear on to gorham, new hampshire, picked up 2 pairs of shoes that I bought online, tried them on, returned one pair and sent the pair that kind of fit on to unionville, new jersey. Now that I have a pair that fits, I’ll have time to get this pair stretched and sent on to where I need them. I also visited the appalachian trail conservancy this morning and became a member. A way of showing my gratitude for the gift of the trail. They really do do amazing work, it’s a  superbly maintained trail.
Anyway before I left this morning, I weighed my base weight for the first time, thinking I’d surely got it down to 8 or 9 pounds by now, but it was still a whopping 15lbs! Unacceptable! So I just made a list of everything I can get rid of:

Stuff I don’t need: air mattress blower, spare batteries, spool of string, kindle that I haven’t used in 3 weeks, sleeping bag liner, large notepad, extra resealable bags, 2 months worth of vitamins.

image

At the ATC headquarters

At the ATC headquarters

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Rob permalink

    How much time do you have left on your visa? You’ve been walking a few months now I think?

    • Well I’m here til the 18th of september, but I soul be finished on the trail by early august. Not sure what I’ll do after yet.

Leave a comment