Skip to content

The end of virginia.

May 22, 2012

21/05/2012
Okay so I’ve finished virginia so let’s see if I can make a fresh start and keep some kind of blog going. I’m stealing Daypak’s idea and writing in my phone so I can just copy and paste when I get wifi.

image

This is Daypak- on his third thru hike.

Daypak drinking a mocha while enjoying the view at tinker cliffs.

Yesterday (20/5) I did my second 27 mile day in a row and hit the 1000 mile mark about 10 miles in. it was also the virginia/west virginia border so as you can tell by the photo I was feeling pretty good. I’ve had a few problems the past week that slowed me down so to be making up the miles was rather satisfying as well. The problems were mainly due to opening hours, gear faults and a type infection due to ill fitting footwear. But everything should be fine now. I actually found a pair of size US14 extra wide hiking boots in a small country town store in Front Royal. Right between the camo hunting boots and the cowboy boots.

Today I woke up at 6am to my alarm and started playing with my phone. Around 6.30 when I checked my emails, I saw I had several emails from daypak telling me, among other things, that I should come to DC with him before he makes his way home. The train left at 7am. I toyed with the idea for a bit, went outside to look at the weather, saw that it was raining and decided not to bother. Instead, I went out to get breakfast and somehow ended up at the train station and met up with Daypak. It was a good day, we went and saw the air and space museum, the natural history museum and the main art gallery. The art gallery had paintings by monet, picasso and renoir. One day isn’t nearly enough to see everything but any longer and I’d lose momentum from my hike. Anyway I’m glad he invited me because I never would have gone on my own.

Here’s a couple of snapshots from the day:

image

image

Me in my sunday best.

image

image

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. aawwa permalink

    What a great experience!

  2. Rob permalink

    Awesome stuff bloke, so that was Washington DC? Did you run into Barack?

Leave a comment