Skip to content

Plants I’ve seen

May 13, 2012

I’ve ben meaning to do a lot of things on the trail, but all I seem to end up doing is walking, eating and sleeping. One thing I want to so ia learn all the names of the plants I come across, but I can never seem to find a book when I think of it. Here’s some of the common ones I’ve come across. Luckily not everyone on the trail is as ignorant as me.. Although most people are!

image

Rhosodendrons in full bloom. They’ve only started flowering the last week or two. These are very common plants near the creeks.

image

This is a white pine

image

This is the largest oak tree on the sputhern half of the oak tree, named the Keffer oak.

image

This is the sex organs of a fungus. Not sure which one.

image

More rhododendrons, from a few weeks ago.

image

Some type of fir tree I guess.

image

Pretty sure this one is holly.

image

This isn’t a tree, it’s a salamander. they come out when it rains.

Anyway I’m just sitting on the grass out front of the library in Waynesboro and the outfitter opens soon so i’m gonna call up a stranger to give me a free ride. They actually have a list of people here who do that for hikers. Isn’t that cool? Here’s the sign

image

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Rob permalink

    Heya bloke, nice pics, get some pics of the towns you’re stopping in, curious to see what the US looks like outside the big cities.

  2. NO! MORE TREES! Yeah nah I took some photos in Luray just for you, Rob. I may post them tomorrow if I decide to stay in town.

Leave a comment