Skip to content

Appalachian Trail Thru-Hike

January 17, 2012

Hi all, I’ve decided I’m going to use this blog to keep a record of my hike so that I don’t spam facebook too much. I know there are far too many hiker blogs already, but this is really more just for me so that I have something to look back on, rather just just a bunch of photos kept in a box in the basement that I only pull out when I’m moving house. Since it’s more for personal reasons, I’m not making any strong commitment to make regular updates.

I catch a plane on the 17th of March and get to Springer Mountain in Amicalola Falls State park, Southern Terminus of the AT, on the 23rd.
I’m almost ready, I just need to buy a waterproof camera and possibly a smart phone. My biggest concern at the moment is that the guy who granted my Visa at the American Consulate told me that I won’t know how long I can stay in America until I reach the border. Kinda harsh, if you ask me! As a result, I don’t actually feel like I’m going on a hike yet because I don’t know for certain if I’ll be granted enough time to finish it.

Anyway, wish me luck! I’ll update this in LA when I know if I can stay for 6 months.

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. aawwa permalink

    Sounds great!

    🙂

  2. Rob permalink

    Since when have you had a basement?

    • Well I did in Menora. You probably never saw it.

      • Rob permalink

        Fair call, how goes the travel so far, all good in NZ or you made it to the US now?

      • Still in NZ, I’ll be leaving in 2 hours. I had a longer stay in NZ that I originally anticipated.. Ask Mum. On the plus side I bought $300 worth of wool clothing from Icebreaker 😀

      • Rob permalink

        Heya mate, so what’s the word on the visa, are you getting your 6 months in the US?

      • I got it! I’m here til the 17th september. I’m in LA at the moment staying in a hostel. All I have to do today is find me some hiking boots then send some things home. Tomorrow i’ll do some touristy things maybe then I’ll fly out the following morning

      • Rob permalink

        Heya Joel, good to hear, make sure you get some pictures up on this blog for us and send us some postcards too. Take care over there, all I know about LA comes from the movies, make sure you’re wearing the right gang colours when you’re in Compton 🙂

Leave a comment